top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnamae Muldowney

Sound Trials

Updated: May 21, 2021

After my studies on reverberation, I continued to use this Grasshopper definition to test different room shapes / forms. However despite many trials I struggled to fully understand the real life consequence of these changes.


Due to this I began researching grasshopper plugins and found one called Esquissons, a space listening tool. After a steep learning curve I manage to combine this with my previous definition (the one that simulated sound reflections).


This allowed me to project a sound into the space geometry and hear what it could sound like. This became a useful tool as I could study in real time how shaping walls and changing height levels would change the sound response.

I trialled many different forms and could hear either a huge or minimal change. I was surprised by which spaces sometimes gave similar responses. Here is a video of some of my trials.




You may wonder why these forms are changing the sound response, this is where the combination of both my definitions comes in, as the reflection directions and timings change so does the sound. Here is a video showing how the reflections vary between forms.





62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page