top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnamae Muldowney

A Listening Museum - Work In Progress

Through my studies of acoustics, architecture and technology I have found 3 different ways sound can be communicated in a building. I intend to use these techniques under three catergories (reproduce, replicate, recreate) in my museum design.


Reproduce

This technique takes an ancient or pre-existing structure/space are reproduces it in detail to reproduce the unique sound quality of that space. This technique can be realised with technology such as 3d scanning, 3d modelling in rhino and an AR technology Hololens.


In my Museum I intend to reproduce both Newgrange passage and the traditional Irish round tower. While the acoustic qualities of these could be recreate using auralization and simulation, I felt the physical spatial qualities of these structures were worth reproducing. The Round tower for instance can be used for circulation while the passage tomb's inverse can be used as a rockery for visitors to sit on.



Replicate

This method uses the materials of the original space as acoustic references to the space it is replicating. These materials could be exaggerated to ensure the museum visitors can tell the acoustic difference.


In the museum I intend to replicate acoustic references of Norman designed landscapes and wattle and daub crannogs. I intend to do this by using height and water references to create a acoustic experience that feels like you are traveling thorough a moat and bailey. While using the warm and tactile nature of wattle and daub to replicate the Crannog experience.


Recreate

This technique is the most experimental. It uses acoustic simulation techniques to recreate spaces or experiences. I plan to use this to create spaces tuned to the most popular keys in Irish traditional music, G and D. Thus when this music is played there it will resonant in a beautiful indescribable way.

I will also use the uncomfortable anechoic chamber to represent Ireland's Great Famine. The void of sound representing the void of food.

Lastly I will use a giant amplifying horn connected to the street facing façade. This will amplify the street sound onto a roof terrace above the rubbled top of the passage tomb. This rubble and street chatter representing the Irish Civil War that was fought on the street that surround Liberty Hall.



Works in Progress


I began to look at how this might look in Liberty Hall;






How Will I test and show these spaces are acoustically varied?


I plan to go back to some of the exercises and techniques I learned during the semester.

I will create reflection simulations for each space, comparing them to ensure variety for clarity. I will try and make a map of these reflections like a heat map like the one below




I will use my auralization definition to create a sound scape of the building.

Lastly I will use this soundscape with a brainwave scanner to ensure the brain can tell the difference between spaces. I can also use this to see what effect some acoustic properties have on the brain, ie relaxing or disruptive.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page