top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnamae Muldowney

"Blind people don't hear better, they just listen better"

Updated: Feb 25, 2021


Sound - Light - Smell - Touch


Sound is the most significant way in which visually impaired people gain information of the world around them. Sound helps people navigate through the world, especially when sight takes a back seat.

It tells us when we are transitioning between areas and when we are approaching people or interactions.


In order to research this, I began to test materials with a white cane and then brought it into a model of Liberty hall.

This technique is similar to how Arup Soundlab is investigating sound through 3d sound recording, VR and 3d modeling.



I tested a variety of flooring samples, vinyl, various tiles and plastic. I began to look at the frequencies and hope to relate these with how the material felt when hit with the cane. I was interested in how similar looking materials can have very different feedback. I also noted how the method of attaching these materials also impacted the feedback.


I took a walk through my home which as an 1930's refurb has a wide variety of materials, I noted how the wide variety including small rugs and door underboards helped me navigate and understand my surroundings. I noticed in flooring sound was more important , whereas on wall coverings texture could play vital part.


I found this study very interesting as I would usually choose materials based on aesthetics, economic cost and environmental cost, with complete disregard for the feedback they provide in regards to sound and touch.


I hope to continue this by looking at how Arup's SoundLab undertakes this process of auralisations. In particular looking at acoustic engineering aspects, specifically looking at how sound works within liberty hall via frequency, vibration and dynamics. With this analysis coupled with material investigations, I plan to figure out how the building might be acoustically zoned.



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page